May 17, 2011 2:34 PM by Dennis Carlson (KBZK Bozeman)
BOZEMAN- Governor Brian Schweitzer vetoed House Bill 271 last week, a measure that made the requirement to apply for a concealed carry weapons permit only optional, for individuals who already qualify.
Thnaks to that veto, the current law stands; to carry a concealed weapon in Montana, you are still required to apply for a permit.
Here's how to apply for a concealed carry permit.
After a visit to the Law and Justice Center, some paperwork and some fingerprinting, your application to carry a concealed weapon in Montana is ready for the county sheriff.
State law says the sheriff has 60 days to perform a criminal background check. If you meet the criteria, your permit is granted.
The News Station's Mike Heard recently applied for his permit.
"I thought the process was pretty easy," Heard said.
Whether it's for personal security or a part of the right to own and bear arms, Montanans with a permit are allowed to carry a weapon within the boundaries of a city or town.
Before you apply, you must either prove you have prior military experience or law enforcement training or take an approved firearms safety class, like the one held every month at the Logan Gun Range.
5 hours ago